Triton Router Refurbishment E4

Now that this router and it’s table are up for sale, I’d better get on with some posts. 

I suddenly realised at the beginning of last week that we’re moving house in less than two weeks and I’ve still got these machines. I have to sell them as I’ve got nowhere to put them in the new place. In fact, we can’t even move in because the place is a dump and we have to clear it up first. That’ll take a month at least. 

Last time we got the router dismantled and so it’s cleanup time.

Wood dust like this…

…just hoovers up as you go along, then I used GUNK as my general cleaning solution. However, this sort of thing…

…needs the rust remover. I simply immersed all these bits in the remover in a pot…

…and they turned out quite nice…


The chuck post and the ratchet tube had flash rust…

…but I couldn’t find a way to remove them, so I coated them in the rust remover gel and covered them in cling film…
I left them like this for a couple of days. After checking, I kept repeating this process until I was satisfied. I was happy with the result…

I made no attempt to remove the armature. I don’t have the tools or the know how and, and anyway, it turned quite smoothly and so there seemed no need. I inspected it carefully and hoovered out every last speck of wood dust.

Here’s some more cleaned up parts…

In one of these pictures you’ll notice one of the knobs is missing. I couldn’t find it anywhere, so I bought a new one. Reassembly was quite straightforward; just a reverse of the dismantling process. I used the photos already taken to guide me through the process. This is the completed router, clamped back into its table mounting plate…

…and upside down in the table…

I’m glad to say it worked fine! Off…

…and on…

Some final points:

The plunge system, like all routers, relies on a strong spring in one of the tubes. This makes height adjustment from underneath more difficult, so Triton designed a way of getting the spring in and out easily. One simply takes off this cap…

I reinstalled the spring as a safe way to transport it. It should be removed before using as a router table.

The main switch…

…has a light in it which comes on when the router has power applied to it. To get the router to switch on, one has to move a guard to one side then depress the switch. Anyway, all this is in the instruction brochure.

The next series of posts will deal with the cleaning up of the table.

