Triton Router Refurbishment E3

Episode 3

To get the base off, there are two pins holding it to the slider tubes which have to be knocked out…

Using drill bits as drifts is quite useful because one can choose exactly the right diameter. This is important: obviously too large and it won’t fit in the hole, but too small and it can jam. A good snug fit is best. Drill bits are cheap and consumable. This is the baseless router…

As you can see, the closest tube slides right out, but the further one is held by cogs so will have to wait. The smaller tube is the depth stop rod (height stop rod? Och, who cares)

Of course, as I’m doing this, I’ve no idea for sure how it’s all held together, or whether my taking it apart will damage anything. So I’m relying on three principles:

  1. I’m prepared to bin it if I break it beyond repair
  2. Surely it’s made for ease of assembly at the factory and for ease of repair in the field?
  3. Wish I could think of a third one…

To take the body apart, it seemed obvious – for no good reason – to start at the top section.

I removed the black top cap…

In the first picture, I’m holding the wee screw to the big one to show that it’s the big one that goes in the black cap. This is because they’re all going into the same cleaning pot. Next I removed the switch panel on the side…

The spring  is for the depth stop rod, which is in shadow middle right, and which can now be slid out.

Lifting the speed controller off the armature end…

…showed that it – the armature end – wasn’t secured; I mean by a bolt or screw or anything. Would the armature slide right out, then? Undoing these screws…

…allowed me to prise the two halves apart…

Start gently. As soon as you feel some give, you know your on the right track. Take your time though, inspecting as you go along, being wary of things suddenly pinging out. Small bits – springs etc – can be lost that way. There is a plastic cylinder in the base which simply pulled out…

Almost ready to begin cleaning…

