Triton Router Refurbishment E2

Episode 2

This picture…

…shows how I modified a Triton Router Table to improve the dust extraction.

I enclosed the underside in a plastic bag with Velcro hatch. That bag led to a connection to a 100mm dust extraction hose. I made a new fence incorporating a 100mm hose connector. I drilled into the top of the table to install plastic feather boards. As it turns out, the black 50mm hose has nothing to do with this!

Actually, all this worked quite well. I remember at the time enjoying the challenge of connecting up all these machines and trying to eliminate the dust and chips. That was my first inkling that I enjoyed the machines and tools more than the woodworking. Seems strange doesn’t it?


Anyway, this series is about refurbishing the router itself, which is buried somewhere in that table. It is clamped to a tray and hung upside down…

Uh oh, this doesn’t bode well…

Upright…


Once the wingnuts are loosened the router is lifted out. I marked the tray with the clamp positions so that I could assemble more easily. According to the MLW Method, plenty of photographs were taken of every single component, both close up and wide field, to enable a painless reassembly. I can’t show them all here, but I took hundreds. Unscrew the four screws holding the black base on…

These screws are a disgrace and an embarrassment…

…but they’ll clean as good as new, don’t worry.

Take off all the knobs around the rim and the height (depth?) stop…

The dust and chip shields can then be taken off…

Brushes taken out; these are in perfect condition and well over the 6mm minimum…

Height lock removal…

Spring tube cap removal…

Revealing ominous rust – but no spring…

This prompted a search and I found it in a box. Height fine adjuster removal…

This is the base so far…

Doesn’t look so bad. Nothing that won’t clean.

In episode 3…

