One year on…

But, Mousie, thou art no thy lane, In proving foresight may be vain;  The best-laid schemes o’ mice an ‘men Gang aft agley, An’lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain, For promis’d joy! –  “To A Mouse, On Turning Her Up In Her Nest With The Plough”, Robert Burns, 1785

…and most of my best laid schemes have came to fruition.

It was interesting, however, to see what happened to this blog whilst I took a break from posting. Incidentally, taking a year off wasn’t intentional. Big Bad (remember him?) reared his ugly head again and I began to get behind. I had loaded myself up with a comprehensive plan to study the Embraer 195 prior to my course in October. Before I knew it, a couple of months had passed and I hadn’t found the time to post. I didn’t have as much enthusiasm either, so I took a break.

Anyway, I had expected blog traffic to dwindle away to nothing, but the opposite happened; traffic increased. I noticed that the ML7 posts were frequently referred to. Might I have unwittingly created a resource? That would be great if true. It’s always good to feel useful to others. Now that the fuss of changing types has completely melted away, I’ve gone part time and given up being a Training Captain (by the three mice of blind, how stressful was that job), maybe I can make a useful contribution to the world of tools and the Great British Tradition of 50 Something Men Pottering About in Sheds!

So, I retrained from the Bombardier Dash 8 Q400 to the Embraer 175/195. It took a month in ground school, three weeks in the simulator and three weeks Line Training. October to early December. Some pictures:

Faro, June 2016…

The Pilots’ Lounge…

We have this cool device…

This damage was caused by a now ex seagull…

…this is what those blades should look like…

I’ve been reasonably busy in MLW even though I’ve not posted anything about it. Here’s a preview of some upcoming posts:

Large hand drill refurbishment…

Triton Router and table…

Triton Circular Saw and Workcentre 2000…

MLW tour…


There’s also a “retrograde” on the ML7.

Lots to show you. Hope you can join me!

2 thoughts on “One year on…

Comments are closed.