Ejets

…This is why I tell you, all the things you pray and ask for, have faith that you have received them, and you will have them…

In the autumn, I’ll be transferring onto a different type of aircraft, the Embraer Ejet series. An Ejet isn’t a Scottish idiot, it’s a family of airliners that includes the E170, E175, E190 and E195. Our company has E175s and E195s.

This will be only my fourth airliner in over 20 years. Here’s the first one…


That’s a British Aerospace Jetstream 41, of British Airways Express. This aircraft, which I’ve actually flown, belonged to Manx Airlines, which was then a franchise operator of BA. I started as a First Officer on that in May 1994; becoming a Captain in December 1996. In January 1999, I changed to this…


That’s an Embraer 145, and again, I’ve got this very one in my logbook. It was the same company, but had morphed into British Regional Airlines operating as BA Connect. That was a nice aeroplane; a pocket rocket. In 2009, after Flybe bought BA Connect, I changed onto this paddle steamer…

A Bombardier Dash 8 Q400. I actually flew this very one on the 10th of May to Inverness and Dublin. All joking apart, this is the aircraft I’ve got the most respect for. It’s solid, powerful and comfortable. I’ve been in a Hurricane Force 12 landing (December the 18th, Aberdeen) and it’s been fine. I’ve been inside a thunderstorm (by accident, let me assure you..) and it held together. I’ve had it covered in ice. I’ve taken it out of Chios, 35 degrees, max weight, 1500 metre runway with a mountain at the end. I’ve flown it on one engine after a prop malfunction. Smooth as a bairn’s bum.

But it’s quite difficult to fly. And we spend all our time in bad weather and short runways. Stressful. A young man’s game that. I want something easy to fly now and I want out of training, so I’m going back to jets; this one…


Nice, isn’t it?

3 thoughts on “Ejets

  1. Well done Jim! Hopefully less nightstopping and more time at the workbench (both drums and plastic!) in the future! Now if only there would be a course for BHX coming up, I might spend less time in the Sefton wishing I was at home!

Comments are closed.