Taming TED

Big Bad TED is real, you know. He’s not just a figment of my imagination! (Pesky psychologists. What do they know? It’s not for nothin’ they’re called psychos for short…) Big Bad lurks around every second, waiting to pounce on your minutes and devour your hours. But don’t despair! He can be tamed!

You just have to give up 30% of your salary.

Part time. Five days on then five days off. 70% pay. That’s what I’ve achieved. Or to be more accurate, I haven’t “achieved” it; I’ve been granted it by Them. It’s strange, tho’. It’s Them that feed the Time Eating Demons…

Mmmmm… I might have to make cut backs. Sell the BMW and buy something French. Switch to Japanese whisky. Sell the drum kit. Sell the Lathe. Rent out my workshop to a rap band to rehearse in. AAAAAAARGH!! WHAT’S HAPPENING TO ME! IS THIS A NIGHTMARE?

Never may such evils come to pass.

The BMW’s stayin’. The Cask Strength Whisky’s stayin’. The Drum Kit’s stayin’. The Lathe’s stayin’. May rap NEVER be heard in my house. Ever.

Right then. I’ll just make a couple of wallet moths redundant.

Seriously, it’s such a relief, despite the huge cost. I wonder what it’s like not to feel tired? From the end of May, I hope I’ll find out..

Rebuilding a hi hat stand

First, the legs need to be reattached to the base; I think it’s called the stirrup. Banging in the pins… 

 
 

Once the main tube was installed, I could reassemble the sliding tube and the sprung rod.

The foot plate needed a new nut on the end of the pin… 

Before I could attach the footplate linkage to the end of the sprung rod, I had to rig a means of compressing the spring… 

This made connecting the foot plate to the sprung rod easier… 

The completed hi hat lower half… 

 



 

 …and upper half… 

  

Great. Everything works much more smoothly.

