FTL drive?

…a man rejoices in giving the right answer, and a word spoken at the right time—how good it is!

The trouble with Faster Than Light travel is that if you jump away for a day, several months have passed for those left behind.

I wish I could use FTL travel as an excuse for not posting since the 9th of October, but I suspect some of you might have trouble believing it. And it would be a lie. And FTL travel hasn’t been invented yet (come on, scientists. What the hell are you doing all day?)

No, the truth is, I got out of the habit. The reason I got out of the habit is that – brace yourself, this sounds strange – I suddenly got absolutely sick and tired of the lathe.

This has happened to me before with long projects. When I get close to finishing, I start to get all excited. Then one day I realise how much I still have to do. Then I look at my sparse amount of spare time. Then I realise by how much I’ve missed my – admittedly artificial and arbitrary – finishing deadline. Suddenly, the project seems like a bully (remember Big Bad?) and I don’t want anything to do with it anymore, or anything related to it. Crucially, though, having done the lathe course, I saw how the machine would get very messed up very quickly if I was to actually use it.

That set up a quandary. I want to use it. But if I use it, I’ll undo months of cleaning work. But if I don’t use it, what was the point of all those months of work? So I don’t want to use it; but I do want to use it. A Loop.

So I “got sick of it”. I did nothing for a couple of weeks. Because I did nothing, I had nothing to write about; so no blog entry.

Then I started to dismantle and clean the chucks. But I’d got out of the habit of blogging and so when I remembered to blog, it was usually at an inopportune time, so I didn’t.

Anyway, enough of the excuses. The lathe is actually finished. Over the next short time period (note how I didn’t commit myself there..) I’ll write about the chucks and stuff. Bet you can’t wait…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/f05/62086612/files/2014/12/img_3879.jpg

3 thoughts on “FTL drive?

  1. I have just texted Mulder and Scully to call off the hunt for you. Alien abduction was the only plausible explanation I could think of for your disappearance. Glad to see you back, what you need is the Linn equivalent of Frohike, Langly and Byers to take the load off. Looking forward to reading the coming posts.

  2. OK! It’s like buying a new pair of shoes. The worst thing you can do is ware them out by walking in them but you have to else your feet get sore! Have a go at using the lathe and you’ll be able to clean/dismantle it in no time at all. You know that machine inside out and upside down. You will be able to keep it in full working order little by little rather than the months of hard work you have put in bringing it ‘back from the dead’. You can’t waste all that hard work.

    What do you think will be the first thing you will make with your lathe? 🙂

  3. Pete and Mike: I don’t know what to make. My initial thought is to repeat the test piece we made at the lathe course; just to get back up to speed.

    Before that though, the lathe has to be calibrated. This means that the axes – is that the plural of axis? – all have to be lined up. Otherwise, things will come out squinty. My books show how to do it.

    What to make though… Any ideas, anyone?

Comments are closed.