Mesmerising Assembly part iii

…if we evolved from apes, why is there still apes?…

Now that I’d polished all the available rods and their corresponding bores, the parts all went back together easily, with the help of some VG32 oil…

IMG_3362.JPG
Then I could offer up the Assembly to the back of the Lathe…

IMG_0253.PNG
The only bolts holding it on are the ones circled in yellow. The Motor Base Swing Pin had to be left out until the lower bolt was tightened.

The Countershaft Pulley was installed on the appropriate end of the Countershaft, the Countershaft pushed through one end of the Swing Head, the Vee Cone Pulley installed on the Countershaft and secured with the pin (yellow circle), the Countershaft pushed through the other end of the Swing Head and secured…

IMG_0254.PNG
…which was a bit daft, as I hadn’t put the Headstock Vee Belt on yet.

So, I had to take the securing collar off, knock out the pin in the Vee Cone Pulley and pull out the Countershaft far enough to get the Belt on. On the Headstock, at the other end of the Belt, I had to take off both Bearing Caps and lift up the Spindle to slip the Belt on…

IMG_3368.JPG
…then put the Bearing Caps back on. This is a view from the front with everything in place…

IMG_3369.JPG

At the rear, I bolted the Motor back on to the Motor Base, put the Motor Drive Vee Belt back on and tensioned…

IMG_3373.JPG
…then I slackened, took the Belt off, took the Motor Pulley off and put it back on the correct way round…

IMG_3376.JPG
The Drive Pulleys were lined up with a straight edge…

IMG_3380.JPG

When I tried to put the Countershaft Belt Guard back on, it didn’t cover both drive pulleys when tension was applied…

IMG_3384.JPG
The problem turned out to be the belt being too big. It was 940mm circumference (or 9.9 times 10 to the minus 17 light years in American. Ok, 37 inches then – stop getting uppity and adopt a logical measurement system) whereas it should be 876mm (34.5 inches). In fact, I think it’s a car fan belt, going by the half faded writing in the inside. I’ve ordered new belts.

Apart from that hiccup, here’s the motorising assembly complete…

IMG_3382.JPG
I gave everything a thorough check and, with the Headstock Vee Cone Assembly in the freewheel position, I turned on the Motor. Everything worked just fine. I tried it in the drive positions and, again, no problems that I can see.

Tailstock next…

2 thoughts on “Mesmerising Assembly part iii

  1. Motorising part 1; monsterising part b; mesmerising part iii . . . Are you up to your old tricks again? 🙂

Comments are closed.