Trying out the electrons…

…I have to wear my glasses when I’m doing decimals. Otherwise, I don’t see the point…

The Base is almost done now. Now that the messy stuff is complete, I connected up all the electrics and powered up.

This is the NVRS connected. The blue spade connectors carry the mains power in and out to the FORS switch above…

20140419-164353.jpg
The FORS has cables running in from the NVRS below and to and from the motor. Quite easy to connect using the diagram I created previously…

20140419-164554.jpg
All the covers were screwed on. The front panel of The Base now looks like this…

20140419-164852.jpg
…and the back panel like this…

20140419-164953.jpg
There is a three pin connector in the mains feed line; simply for ease of moving the whole assembly around.

Moment of truth…

20140419-165228.jpg
…everything connected up for a test run. It went well. The only thing I’m not sure about at the moment is this: is the motor running in the right direction? I can revisit that again when the whole lathe is assembled. I have a diagram in the manual which shows the correct direction, and it’s an easy fix if it’s not right.

I took some video of the motor running and was intending to post that, but WordPress want $99 a year to support that, so not yet. This picture shows the motor stopped…

20140419-165836.jpg
…with a bit of foil wrapped around the pulley to show movement. This is an attempt to show the motor running forward…

20140419-170022.jpg
It also works in reverse, and the NVR switch also works well.

The final items to complete the rebuilding of the base are the Front Plate and The Mounting Blocks for The Bed. Slow going, what with all this work getting in the way…

2 thoughts on “Trying out the electrons…

  1. Just thinking about current regulations. Do you need to be a qualified sparky to do work of this nature? If so I, guess you could always get one to check your work and sign it off!

  2. Not that I’m aware of. I know that one can do limited work on household electrics – eg add a socket or switch to an existing circuit – but I don’t think there is an inspection required in this case.

    If I was intending to let someone else use it, then perhaps that might be an idea. The only warning I can see in the manual is that it all must be earthed. I’ve done that. In the top picture you can see the earth wires.

Comments are closed.