Method in the Madness…

At the same time as I was depainting The Oil Tray, I was doing the same to the top of the base.

This is the top after a simple clean…

20140411-043556.jpg
The dark scars are where the paint is worn right through to the metal. Around the scars the paint is loose and peeling.

Although I absolutely do not want to paint the base yet – I can easily do it last and I want to make quicker progress – I can’t leave the top like this. It doesn’t make sense to clean The Oil Tray to a pristine condition then mate it to a rough, rusty surface. So I depainted (is that even a word?) only the top of The Base

After putting on a coat of stripper, I found there was a top gooey layer of paint…

20140411-044224.jpg
After scraping that off, there was a layer of under coat which was grey, but under that was something black. Here’s a picture after a couple of goes with the stripper…

20140411-044608.jpg
You can see stubborn patches of grey in some depressions – the top is not thin metal and is somewhat uneven – but also this dark stuff which the stripper didn’t seem to be touching.

I used coarse wire wool. That made a difference. At least it got the last of the paint off, and slightly affected the dark stuff. I decided to deal with the rust. After a couple of hours of rust remover gel, I went at it with the coarse wire wool. That worked. To speed things up, I cleaned off the residue with GUNK and found that that stuff bit into the dark stuff.

I’ve no idea what this dark stuff is. Rust? Paint? Anyway, when I used 180 grit Wet and Dry lubricated with GUNK, it all came off quite easily. In fact, it came up quite clean. I finished up with a wipe of camellia oil…

20140411-045528.jpg

We’re getting there…

