Dispatch from Brussels…

…some people are right idiots. Only 50% understand percentages. The other 63% don’t get it at all…

I’m showing off now. I’m sitting in the Brussels Airlines crew room at Brussels Airport, between flights. Operating the Bristol flight at 1520. Why Brussels Airlines? We do a contract for them. Fantastic crew complex. Crucially, really fast, free wifi, so thought I’d tell you about my drill issues.

Here’s one I bent earlier…

20140325-134508.jpg

I was trying to drill a large hole – about 25mm – using the stepped bit which you can see attached. It kept jamming. I got frustrated and gave it some welly. You can see from the photo that as the hand comes over the top, turning clockwise, there is an anti-clockwise rotation around the normal axis. I gave it so much push to unjam it – I was frustrated! – that I bent the handle…

20140325-135005.jpg
You can see from the picture that I’m in the wrong gear. This is the fast gear, which is for small diameter bits. In the first picture you can see a mark on my hand. That’s the skin rubbed away. I didn’t notice. Also didn’t notice I was getting a blister in my thumb joint. The handle bent so much it began to foul the body…

20140325-135516.jpg

LEARNING POINTS

1. Don’t do stuff when you’re short of time and tired.
B. Make sure you’re in the right gear.
iii. Need a bigger drill with a bigger handle to get bigger leverage. Doesn’t exist, though.
* When you’re hand hurts, stop. The blisters are only now healing; I did this fiasco on Thursday.

I wonder how easy it is to make a big drill…

One thought on “Dispatch from Brussels…

Comments are closed.