More Holes…

I want to fit castors so that I can move the 100kg lathe around the workshop if need be. Castors, though, don’t provide a solid, stable support for the lathe when it’s in operation. So they have to fold out of the way so that the lathe sits on the Maple Feet whilst in operation. Actually, the Maple Feet are only there to carry the castors.

Rather than describe further, follow the next couple of posts and it will become clearer how this will look.

First, I need to put hinges on the castors. Ordinary cheap door hinges will do as they will not take any load. The holes in the castor don’t match the holes in the hinge, so I aligned the castor off centre so that one castor hole is over one hinge hole, and marked the centre of the other castor hole onto the hinge…

20140211-113928.jpg
Actually, that was a picture of the assembly after I drilled the hole. I’m still not so good at remembering to take pictures as I go.

Once marked and centre punched, the hinge is temporarily screwed to a support block. This makes it easier to hold under the drill…

20140211-114246.jpg
The support block, carrying the hinge, is then clamped to the drill base and, as I’m using 6mm bolts, a 6mm metal-cutting bit is fitted …

20140211-114535.jpg
Drilling these holes turned out to be the easiest of all the holes so far. That might be because the drill bit is so much smaller. It took more time to set up each hinge than to drill the hole. The support block has the added benefit of giving the underside of the hinge leaf some support as the bit breaks through. When drilling through thin metal sheet, if there was no support, the bit can jam as it breaks through.

Here’s another set up picture…

20140211-115107.jpg
…and a close up…

20140211-115317.jpg
…and the result…

20140211-115529.jpg

Then I fitted a bolt and nut on one assembly and took a measurement for length. Easier to explain if I had taken a photo, but anyway, it’s so I could cut the bolts to length to reduce the amount of protrusion out of the nut to zero. Here’s how all eight bolts started and finished…

20140211-115859.jpg
…cutting the bolts, using the nuts – wound on as far as the measurement – as a fence for the blade…

20140211-120253.jpg
…I need a new blade. Next job is to fit each of the four castor/hinge assemblies to the Maple Feet.

