Brace yourself…

Like a dog that returns to its vomit, the stupid one repeats his foolishness…

Back to these maple feet…

I planed all round and squared up the other piece. Now they are both very close to the same size; perhaps no more than 0.5 mm out. They look like this…

20140130-230016.jpg
Next, I measured the width of the lathe base and transferred it to the parts. I added extra to account for two castors, one at each end, and marked up and cut each piece so that they are now the same length, 460 mm.

Next, I stacked them close to the edge of the bench and clamped them down…

20140130-230923.jpg
You can just make out in the picture, I’ve made marks about 155 mm in from each end, along the line where the pieces meet. This is where I’m going to make 25 mm holes from front to back. Why? Wait and see. It’s easier to let it all unfold than to explain. You can see the brace in the background with the 25 mm auger in it.

First, I sharpened the auger because its cutting edges were coarse from the factory, looking like this…

20140130-231549.jpg
I used this special file…

20140130-231726.jpg
…to make it sharp like this…

20140130-231946.jpg
When I started to turn the auger, as soon as the cutting edge bit the top piece, it translated it to the right. Not enough friction between the two pieces. The clamps aren’t powerful enough. So I took the assembly apart and hammered four panel pins into the lower piece and snipped off their heads…

20140130-232656.jpg
Now I banged on the top piece. That’ll hold it. No it didn’t. I added two more clamps. It still moved. What the heck, it doesn’t need to be that accurate, so I lived with it and got drilling. This is the setup for the first hole…

20140130-233057.jpg
You can clearly see how much the top piece has translated to the right; about 3 mm. The next problem was the sheer strength required to turn a 25 mm auger by hand. The screw in the point pulls the auger into the wood as you turn but it’s an aggressive pull; I needed more leverage, so I jury-rigged this setup…

20140130-233514.jpg
You turn the contraption clockwise by acting on the yellow piece at the top of the picture with your left hand, steadying with your right on the end of the brace.

That worked extremely well and, somehow held together. I made two holes, one on each mark.

Next I swapped the 25 mm auger for a 15mm one, again sharpening it first. I drilled several more holes, on the centreline, between the two large ones. These didn’t need the extra lever. This is the setup…

20140130-235104.jpg
The two smaller clamps running front to back are holding on a piece of scrap at the back to give the auger screw something to pull into as it comes out the back of the maple, otherwise it would stop pulling as it came out into air. The ruler held by a block of wood is a depth stop to let me know when I’ve gone far enough. When I’d finished, this is the result…

20140130-235604.jpg
…and after dismantling…

20140130-235735.jpg
Can you tell what it is yet? One more clue…

20140130-235937.jpg
More coming soon.

In the meantime, Hans the Racist Carrot was made equal to the
Parsnips by peeler, knife and pot…

